Garage Lift - Anyone installed one?

Non-specific topics such as stories, experiences, and other general discussions.
ImperialAtom
Site Admin

Garage Lift - Anyone installed one?

Post by ImperialAtom »

I'm strongly considering buying a lift for my garage. I hate jacking the cars up then dealing with jack stands, only to have very minimal space to crawl around. I'm like 99% sure I'm going to get one, but I'm not sure which one to get and what to expect.

My garage is a three bay garage (2x1) and it is not all that spacious. When I park the 66 Imperial in there, it has to be right up against the wall in order for the garage door to close. Same with my 57, barely enough space to close the garage door. The ceiling is about 10'8" high, and the garage doors hang low.

So first step is to raise the garage doors. I have no experience with garage doors, so I think I'm going to have someone come in and raise them for me. Have two people coming this week to give estimates.

Then the big decision... what style post to get??? Single post, two post, or four post lift. Here's my personal thoughts on them, but would love to hear if anyone else has installed a lift in a normal residential garage and can share some tips.

Single Post Pros/Cons:
Pro - Appears to take up the least amount of space.
Pro - Very mobile
Con - Seems dangerous as it leans the car a bit
Con - Most expensive option
Con - Main post is so heavy, I doubt I could install it myself
Con - Cannot use to stack cars long term

Two Post Pros/Cons:
Pro - Cheapest option
Pro - Allows the best access to the underside of the car
Pro - Seems stable/safe
Pro - Light enough that I could likely install it
Con - Requires drilling bolts into my floor
Con - Not mobile at all - would need to remove bolts to get post out of the way
Con - Seem to take up the most space (width wise)
Con - Cannot use to stack cars long term

Four Post Pros/Cons:
Pro - Very mobile - no bolting to floor and it has castors
Pro - Most stable option